Flatmate Beth made me a compilation album around this time, the “Live in ’05” mix. It was fabulous — selections from artists she and I saw live over the course of the year. If it was embarrassing or if it was astounding, it was fodder for the mix.

She just surprised me with the follow-up album. And while we all know how difficult a sophomore effort can be, she managed to deliver the goods again with the “O’Six Live” mix.

  • Shine, Pat McGee Band
  • Black Balloon, Goo Goo Dolls
  • Consolation Prize, Ryan Montbleau Band
  • Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby, Counting Crows
  • Can’t Get You Out of My Head, Sonya Kitchell
  • Beautiful, Beautiful, G. Love & Tristan Prettyman
  • Metaphor, Patrick Thomas
  • Here’s a Love Song, Syd
  • Some Hearts, Carrie Underwood (HA!)
  • I Am the Sun, Ben Taylor
  • Let You Sleep, Chad Perrone
  • Man Hole, Ani DiFranco
  • Nothing But the Water (I & II), Grace Potter & the Nocturnals

She handed it over, and I hadn’t even realized she’d been in the process of compiling. Her first remark: “There’s no Matt on it, but I knew you had countless Nathanson already, so it wouldn’t be missed.”

Now this is friendship.

