At some point this weekend, when I wasn’t trapped in the Virtual Waiting Room, I decided that it would be wise to load up the iPod with the tunes and melodies that would soundtrack my travels out west. I flipped through an old book of CDs, popping in each unlabled disc to see what treasures might come up.

There was a really shocking amount of old-school Howie Day, let me tell you.

But there was one disc that was an unexpected (and much more cell-phone friendly — heh) treat. It began with the theme song to The Monkees, and I knew I knew what it was…just couldn’t place it…

Until I realized that it was the 11-23-2002 Mraz show from Messiah College that Paul burned for me years ago.

So good. Such an amazingly good show.

What happened? It’s sad, really…and it drives me mad to see people basing their opinions of the music from, say, “The Beauty in Ugly.”

It used to be so different.

In other news. I’m pretty much incoherent today. I spent last night tossing and turning, trying to create a To Do list that I promptly forgot upon waking from the tiny nap I managed to take sometime between 5:30 and 8.

The good news is that I’ll probably have an easier time tonight.

The bad news is that I’m waking up at 4:30 tomorrow morning.

California, California, you’re such a wonder that I think I’ll stay in bed…

