Every family has its holiday quirk, I imagine. Mine happens to center around Turner Classic Movies.

Mom: We have a problem.
Victoria: What’s that?
Mom: “Easter Parade” isn’t going to be on until 5 o’clock.
Victoria: We have a problem.

“Easter Parade” is Easter tradition. We don’t go to services (remind me sometime to tell you about a really young Victoria’s run-in with Rosary beads), we children have outgrown egg hunts. And while I did eat both real and vegan ham during our Easter lunch, when I think of the holiday, I think Fred Astaire and Judy Garland.

It’s just what’s done. Fred and Judy!

I stomped my feet and whined with my mother about how it’s not Easter without my annual dose of Don and Hannah before deciding to invest in a copy of the DVD. About an hour later, I hopped back into the car and drove back to Vermont.

Two silver linings:
1 – I soon will feel happy about not having to leave a holiday early again.
2 – When I called my mother to tell her I was almost home, I asked how the movie was going. “I’m not watching it without you. That’s just not done.”

In unrelated Easter news: If Paps weren’t married, I’d be fighting an urge to fly out to Texas right this moment and kiss him for getting the Sox out of a bases loaded, 8th inning jam…

