En route to Burlington yesterday, where I would pack the last of my things and celebrate Cinco with Beth, sweet potato fries and a couple mugs of Forbidden Fruit, I made a stop at my parents’ house in Southern Vermont. My father had just bought himself a new computer but needed someone to put it all together – and considering the assistance my parents had provided in transporting everything from Vermont to Massachusetts these past few weekends, it was the least I could do to go a bit out of my way.

When he returned home from golf, everything was set, as if little electronically-savvy elves had shown up, created a snazzy workstation and disappeared into the ether.

This morning, my mother drove up to provide car space and a mover’s arms for the final boxes and random items. A perk for her was the fact that she and I were able to finally see B&C’s new house – shining hardwood floors, bright paint choices, grape vines and all.

At one point during the morning, we sat around in the old apartment, enjoying the coffee and donuts to which I’d treated the group as a thank you, when I asked how my father liked his new toy.

“It was the funniest thing,” she said, already chuckling at the memory about to be shared. “He was looking it over, trying to figure out how things work. And I asked him what the was the ONE THING he’s always wanted.”

“What did he say?”

“‘What, for Vickie to get married and have a kid already?'” As my jaw dropped, she cackled. “I have no idea where that came from – Ive never even heard him say that.”

She kept laughing at the horror on my face.

“I said, ‘Uh, no, not that. Try again.’ And then he said…

‘OH, of COURSE. To be able to get online at the click of one button!”

