7:00 p.m. – Game 7 is almost here, and we here at VV (I’m sharing duties tonight with Roommate/Partner-in-LB-crime Nicole) will be bringing you a live-blog of the final matchup between the Cleveland Indians and our own Boston Red Sox.

Last night’s LB ended in the sixth inning because, as I’d mentioned, N and I headed down to Fenway for the final innings of play. It was fascinating to be on the other side of the wall from all of the action – being in Boston for the post-season is a brand new experience for me, as 2004 found me in Vermont, reporting on everyone else’s takes on the action.

Verdict thus far? I’m loving it. Everyone in front of Game On was chanting as if they were right in the park proper, with the claps and screams to match. The crowd bulked up at the top of nine, as folks began to grumble (self most certainly included) about the appearance of Eric Gagne. But by the time the game ended, it was a glorious sight to behold: the streets around the park pulsing with life, cheers, and revelry.

If things go our way tonight, it’s only going to be crazier – the city is already preparing for the potential for chaos. Supposedly some of the streets will be restricted late in the game (as if that’ll stop folks – including this girl, who just wants to cheer on the team), and I’m sure things will be intense.

Here at _____, we’re prepping with dinner, the impending arrival of folks with whom we’ll take in the game, and this here LB. We’ll be updating throughout the game – stay tuned and say hello in the comments!

7:56 p.m. – PREGAME! Beth called from Vermont a few minutes ago and asked how I felt about the first pitch – I had no idea to what she was referring, until she told me that it would be Millar (the guy whose shirt I am wearing tonight in a throwback to ’04) tossing the ball. I didn’t believe her. Now I can’t wait.

8:17 p.m. – Em’s observation yesterday about Shut Up Tim Carver dot Com is making me giggle during the opening commentary.

8:23 p.m. – KEVVVVVVIIIIIIN! I miss that man so much…

8:29 p.m. – “Two nations hanging on every pitch…” Yeah, yeah, yeah. Captain Obvious is in the hizzouse…

8:31 p.m. – One down, eight to go. Dice-K is looking decent!

8:43 p.m. – Technical difficulties, but we’re back now! And the Sox scored!

8:44 p.m. – And Mike Lowell sets it up for a bases-loaded, JD Drew situation. We’ve never been so happy to see Drew step up to the plate before. “I loooooove, Mike Lowell, so much…” – Nicole

8:55 p.m. – I am getting the impression that Dane Cook is not listening to a word I’ve been saying.

8:56 p.m. – Tek responded favorably to Josh Beckett heading to the bullpen. I do believe he wants to make sure that Beckett gets in there and pitches. We now turn to contemplating Jacoby (sorry, Millar – “Jacob”) and his shirt.

9:02 p.m. – 2-0 us. I don’t know about anyone else out there, but I am going to disagree with FOX – I would be perfectly fine with Cleveland waiting until they are in a dire situation to get someone warming up in the bullpen. Who’s with me?

9:08 p.m. – I still don’t like Lofton.

9:10 p.m. – Text alerting Nicole to game startage! Thank you, Verizon!

9:11 p.m. – Dice-K isn’t exactly making me feel amazingly confident right now…

9:16 p.m. – Sizemore strikes out and I’m incapable of further contemplating whether the Cleveland baserunner who was just on looks like Ray LaMontagne. I say yes, but it might be because I was listening to “Trouble” today.

9:21 p.m. – YOUK! A glorious, line-hugging shot past third base. Blake pounds the ground in anger. I cheer. The bullpen action heats up. Cleveland, take yer time. Let us score a few more runs first.

9:23 p.m. – “Dammit! We forgot our instruments!” Let’s give a hand to the bullpen band.

9:24 p.m. – “Wait a minute, you weren’t kidding about the live-blog?” – Justin. Say hi to Justin, everyone…

9:27 p.m. – Youk scores to put us up 3-0! “I don’t think they should say ‘Sac fly.'” – Justin

9:29 p.m. – I’d like to point out that the poncho is back on tonight’s bottle of beer. And I still resent Lofton. That said, I’ve become surprisingly fine with the use of “Dirty Water” to lead out to commercial.

9:30 p.m. – The entire room erupts into cheers at hearing of Battey’s name in the comments section.

9:32 p.m. – Do you think John has any desire to talk to FOX about the game now underway? Why is this considered a good idea? Let’s pick your brain as you’re going nuts in the dugout! Let the man coach, FOX…

9:35 p.m. – Dear Green Monster. Thanks for being tall. Love, Victoria. Is Beckett warming up yet?

9:37 p.m. – “I wish he wasn’t #18…” – Nicole

9:38 p.m. – Mark Shapiro would prefer to be anywhere other than Fenway Park on this night.

9:41 p.m. – Hello Caroline! And Liz! And KJ!

9:44 p.m. – How can FOX play “Cleveland rocks” when Cleveland is trailing 3-1? WHOO! CLEVELAND ROCKS! They scored a run!

9:47 p.m. – “Mark it. 9:47 p.m. Drinking cohersion begins.”

9:49 p.m. – “Ooooh. It tastes like beer and pie!” Internets, say hello to Lizette!

9:50 p.m. – “There should be a ‘Boston rocks’ song somewhere.” – Justin. “There is. It’s called ‘Dirty Water.'” – Nicole. “Yeah. What’s that mean? ‘I love that dirty water?'” – Lizette. “The water in Boston is better than it used to be, but…” – Nicole

9:53 p.m. – Sometimes situations arise in which being a smart player means you get screwed no matter what you do. Kudos to Tek for being smart.

9:55 p.m. – Coincidence? You tell me. The moment I read aloud the Our Fenway that KJ sent my way via IM, Lugo got a hit. For those curious, it reads as follows (and read it out loud, people, we need more runs):
Our Father, who art at Fenway…
Baseball be thy game. Thy Kingdom come,
Playoffs need to be won,
On Earth, then on to the Cask ‘n Flagon.
Give us this day a perfect Papi,
And forgive us our losses,
As we forgive those,
Like Bill Buckner.
And lead us not into desperation,
But deliver us from any losses.
For thine is the Power,
And the Glory,
To beat the Indians,
Forever and ever…. and yes, the Yankees still suck.
Amen.

9:58 p.m. – Three men who live across the river are in big trouble. You know who you are.

10:04 p.m. – I am simply going to point out the fact that both Curt and Dice-K managed to get past 4 2/3 innings in these two games. CONGRATULATIONS!

10:07 p.m. – And now we realize that I can’t do math!

10:08 p.m. – “So how did you meet Victoria, Nicole?” – Justin “A blog, actually. Her blog!” – Nicole “Wait, you met a chick online? HOT.” – Justin “What time? 10:08!” – All in unison.

10:11 p.m. – “BALLS!” – Justin. 3-2. I’m getting nervous. PULL DICE-K!

10:13 p.m. – Battey. Salt. NOW.

10:15 p.m. – Snow in Colorado. Amusingly enough, my father is traveling home to Vermont right now from Utah, where it snowed yesterday and cut short his golfing trip. How about we just hold all of the games in Boston? I mean, if Mother Nature likes us better here, we shouldn’t try to test her patience…

10:17 p.m. – THANK YOU GOD. Dice-K, enjoy the rest of your evening. Take care. Bye-bye.

10:21 p.m. – We hear that there are some adorable Sox-loving boys in Vermont, and we wish to send them hellos. Be nice to KJ. We heart her.

10:24 p.m. – To the dude in the striped polo shirt behind home plate: pull down your hat. You look like a tool. And quit trying to signal. You look like even more of a tool.

10:26 p.m. – OK, we’re heading to Fenway. Again: if the Sox win, we’ll be back Wednesday!

12:33 a.m. – Victory! I’ll have details involving the absurdity that was the city and park’s response to the people assembled outside in the morning. In the meantime…WEDNESDAY NIGHT!

