WHAT ON EARTH WAS THAT!?!?!

I’m going to admit it: I thought it was over by the end of six. I sat sullen on my seat within the ballpark and thought about how devastated I felt to have it all end like this: without any attempt at a rally, without a sense of fire, without anything other than what felt like a whimper.

BUT THAT IS WHY YOU DON’T LEAVE (or give up) UNTIL THE LAST OUT IS RECORDED!

My brain short-circuited. I wanted to cry but couldn’t figure out how to let that emotion out. So I just screamed.

And screamed.

And hugged and high-fived more strangers than I’ve ever embraced in my life. Then waved to the Fenway crowd from my temporary position up on the Jumbotron.

And then I screamed some more.

All in all? About 24 innings of heart-wrenching baseball at Fenway Park this week, capped by 3 of the most thrilling innings I’ve experienced. The Sox delivered on my request: they got us the win and they made this a series.

THANK YOU, BOYS!

sox-29

