– It felt this evening as if I found myself, at one point or another, stuck behind every leisurely walker between Davis and Central squares. And while I’m a laidback kind of girl, I’m not great about being a particularly patient girl when I’m trying to get from Point A to Point B. There is a time for meandering – hell, I’m all for taking time and looking around for the little detail most people pass by – but that time is not when you are in a T station.

Or, while I’m at it, walking through the Pru or on Newbury Street sidewalks (if, and this is a big if, you are part of a group that’s blocking the rest of the sidewalk. As long as people have room to pass, meander away, I say).

– I caught the final performance of ImprovBoston’s Crime Solving Bear tonight and left wishing that I’d made excursions to experience it earlier in its run. I would have enjoyed multiple performances. The good news? At least I caught one. Now bring it back so I can see more, please and thank you.

– I love (love love love) literary discussions. This evening, pre-CSB, the topic was John Irving, whose work I’m steadily consuming as of late (for Irving fans: I read The Cider House Rules ages ago but recently was advised, by a savvy friend, to take on some more. I’ve loved The World According to Garp, A Prayer for Owen Meany and am wrapping up The Hotel New Hampshire. I’m building myself an Irving collection, although I might take just long enough a break from Irving to read the copy of Salinger’s Nine Stories that arrived in the mail earlier this week. Wow, that was a long aside). I tend to skip and hop among authors in my reading, but have enjoyed the little familiarities that have come with expanding my Irving knowledge. Aw nice, a bear! Oooh, wrestling! Huzzah, mother issues!

– I’m going to start work on a literary project come November. I’m not going to sign up for NaNoWriMo this year, because it’s A) not a novel and B) not something that I want to try to rush through, but I’m feeling motivated and extraordinarily positive about it.

– I have two days almost entirely free next weekend and intend to partake in a MicroVation. Oh, and I’m also going to sleep as late as I can one of those mornings. No alarm to be set. I don’t know if I’m more excited about that or the MV. It’s kind of a toss-up in my sleep-deprived mind.

– I was watching Bull Durham earlier this week and finally decided that Kevin Costner’s speech – you know the one, the “what do you believe in” speech – is appropriately overwritten, but also ridiculously hot.

