Late October. The air is crisp, the leaves are looking at their finest, the cider is flowing…and my birthday is fast approaching.

In the past, I’ve kept the birthday thing pretty low-key. It’s not that I don’t like birthdays – I love them, actually – but I never know what I want to do for it. The thought it always that it’s the birthday girl’s chance to pick precisely what she wants to do, and I understand the thought process. That said, my ideal birthday would begin with being told that an enjoyable day was all lined up for me. All I have to do know what type of clothes I should be wearing for the activities and then enjoy myself.

This year, I’m mixing things up a bit. Rather than waiting until the last minute and then going out for dinner, I have an event planned for my birthday night. Not just an event that I’m attending, but an event at which I am performing – in a manner of speaking.

I will be making my third trip to the DJ booth at River Gods on Monday, November 3, as one of two DJs presenting “One State, Two State, Red State, Blue State” from 8 p.m. to midnight. The theme of the night is America – places, people, things, whatever; we’ll be using some great tunes (Jonathan Richman, The Postal Service, Heart, Rufus Wainwright, Billy Joel) to make the theme work. I’ll again take on the DJ Vix name and am joined this time by the fabulous, the sensational, the sassy spin goddess herself DJ Van Der Awesome.

And this will, for all intents and purposes, be my birthday party. 🙂 Which means that all are invited and a good time will be had.

Mark the calendars!

