I could write about that time (yesterday) that I yelled and threw pillows to get frustration out, but I won’t. I would write about the fact that a cold has left me feeling absolutely drained, but I’d rather not.

Instead, I’ll write about reading.

I casually hopped onto the 50 Books in One Year challenge this year. I didn’t maintain any lists, but instead tried to focus on making sure to take in as many words as I possibly could. Given that I commute via public transportation, believe it’s important for a writer to soak up inspiration from others and generally read books at a quick rate, I figured that striving for 50 books (even if I didn’t keep track of the actual tally per se) would be a good idea.

It’s been great. I’ve read so much fantastic work this year that has left me happy and my expanding library of books rich with material. The only problem with this is that now I’m in November and actually <em>want</em> to know how many books I’ve read! So, after the jump, I try to account for my reading this year (listed in no order other than my memory).I know that I’ve forgotten some, but feel free to check the list and add any suggestions you might have.

And, in related news, I bought “Schulz and Peanuts: A Biography” this evening. Sorry Dumas, but I can’t wait to end my time with your musketeers (this installment of their lives, that is) so I can dive into this!

  1. The Man in the Iron Mask – Alexandre Dumas (currently reading)
  2. Nineteen Minutes – Jodi Picoult
  3. Feeding the Monster: How Money, Sports, Smarts, and Nerve Took a Team to the Top – Seth Mnookin
  4. The Book of Other People – Zadie Smith
  5. The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic and Madness and the Fair that Changed America – Erik Larson
  6. Middlesex – Jeffrey Eugenides
  7. Back Then: Two Literary Lives in 1950s New York – Anne Bernays
  8. Rock On: An Office Power Ballad – Dan Kennedy
  9. Loser Goes First – Dan Kennedy
  10. Eight Men Out: The Black Sox and the 1919 World Series – Elit Asinof
  11. Crazy ’08: How a Cast of Cranks, Rogues, Boneheads, and Magnates Created the Greatest Year in Baseball HIstory – Cait Murphy
  12. The Red Sox Fan Handbook: Everything You Need to Know to be a Red Sox Fan or to Marry One – Leigh Grossman
  13. The Long Ball: The Summer of ’75 – Spaceman, Catfish, Charlie Hustle and the Greatest World Series Ever Played – Tom Adelman
  14. Prep – Curtis Sittenfeld
  15. Norwegian Wood – Haruki Murakami
  16. The Other Boleyn Girl – Philippa Gregory
  17. The Counterlife – Philip Roth
  18. The Plot Against America – Philip Roth
  19. Faithful: Two Diehard Boston Red Sox Fans Chronicle the Historic 2004 Season – Stewart O’Nan and Stephen King
  20. Ball Four – Jim Bouton
  21. Seeing Stars: Memoirs of a Professional Autograph Seeker – Edwin Howard
  22. A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving
  23. The World According to Garp – John Irving
  24. The Hotel New Hampshire – John Irving
  25. Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal – Christopher Moore
  26. The Miracle Letters of T. Rimberg – Geoff Herbach
  27. Brief Interviews with Hideous Men – David Foster Wallace
  28. Twilight – Stephenie Meyer
  29. New Moon – Stephenie Meyer
  30. Eclipse – Stephenie Meyer
  31. Breaking Dawn – Stephenie Meyer
  32. The Natural – Bernard Malamud
  33. Nine Stories – J.D. Salinger
  34. The Best American Nonrequired Reading, 2007 – Edited by Dave Eggers
  35. Alias Grace – Margaret Atwood
  36. Born Standing Up: A Comic’s Life – Steve Martin
  37. Kate – William J. Mann
  38. Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel García Márquez
