(to be updated over the course of the day, so keep checking back)

I’m taking a proactive approach to making the most of a Monday. Thus far, I’ve left my usual tunes on the shelf, in favor of things that are going to get me moving and keep me feeling positive.

Morning Commute:

  • Linkin Park & Jay-Z, Collision Course

Late Morning:

  • Justin Timberlake, FutureSex/LoveSounds (in “Summer Love,” the backing vox singing “L-O-V-E” sounds like it’s saying “Oh, V V.” I like to imagine it’s a JT shoutout to yours truly.)
  • The Damnwells, Air Stereo (One of my favorite bands, although when people ask about musical favorites, I never think to say these guys. They are one of the few bands where I don’t have a preference between studio recordings or live. Just let me listen to as much as I can, in whatever setting, and I’m happy. That said, they need to go on a larger-scale tour soon. By which I mean that I really need to see them live in Boston again. Alex, please say yes.)

Early Afternoon:

  • The Damnwells, Bastards of the Beat (Keeping this Damnwells love going. Air Stereo is a glossier production than the album that preceded it, but BotB is the album that first hooked me and remains my favorite. It’s largely faster and has a little swagger to it that appeals to me. It’s also the album that features “Kiss Catastrophe” and “Electric Harmony,” my two favorite songs by the band. This album competes regularly for a spot on my Top Five Albums list and always holds a spot in the Top Ten.)
  • LCD Soundsystem, LCD Soundsystem (I don’t have the entire album on the iPod, but I do have “Too Much Love,” “Never as Tired as When I’m Waking Up,” “Thrills,” “Disco Infiltrator” – my favorite – and “Yr City’s a Sucker.” Good things.)
  • Michael Jackson, various (Dancing mood needs the best groove-inducing songs. Oh, Michael. What happened? In related news, “Remember the Time” needs to be rocked during karaoke. I’m trying to decide whether I should do it or whether I should get a friend of mine to do it so I can serve as a backup singer/dancer. However it’s done, it would be an epic win.)

Late Afternoon:

  • Christina Aguilera, various (This is around the time I realized that I ought to keep in mind that not everyone could hear the “Candyman” coming through my speakers. And that, if someone peeked over my cubicle walls, they would see me dancing something crazy-like.)
  • Matt Nathanson, Beneath These Fireworks (Something special to wind down the afternoon and prep me for the trip home. Enthusiastic and earnest enough to fit the rest of the vibe of the day, albeit my favorite singer-songwriter style. A good way to end the day.)
