My decision to buy my current reading, one made based on the cover alone, was top-notch. I’m absolutely engrossed in learning about Charles Schulz. While I’m only about halfway through Schulz and Peanuts: A Biography, I have already begun to tell people that they NEED to read this book.

I admit, though, that it takes an awful lot to turn me off of a biography. And this book represents precisely what makes me suck a sucker for that style of work. I’m reading about someone who created art with which I grew up. I slept in a Peanuts sleeping bag. I looked forward to the television specials. I totally loved Linus. I thought Woodstock was the bee’s knees. I loved any strip I could come across.

Wait – why am I speaking in past tense? Minus the sleeping bag, I still do all these things – and I wanted to cry when I had to give up that sleeping bag.

But what’s so fascinating is that this work has been part of my life for my whole life, but I knew absolutely nothing (seriously, nothing) about its creator. And now, I’m just soaking up the information, figuring out how and why things that I remember loving came to exist in cartoon form. I’m reliving the art while learning about the artist. WIN!

This is why I have a special shelf for my biographies: Katharine Hepburn, James Cagney, Sylvia Plath, the Doors (I have several), James Dean (again, several), etc. And why I hope that someday, if I play my cards right, I’ll have the chance to write someone’s biography. That would be one of the coolest gigs in the world.

But seriously, people. Read this book. And if my glowing, ringing endorsement doesn’t do it for you, know that you will bring smiles to people’s faces when you pass by and they see the cover. Every single day you’re carrying it.

