Morning:

  • Letters to Cleo, various: If there was ever a perfect time for a show, it’s today. Tonight, rather, when I head to Paradise to see LTC. I’ve seen Kay Hanley at “Hot Stove, Cool Music,” but it’s going to be pretty fantastic to see the full band, playing the songs I’ve listened to for so long. I keep playing “Here and Now” and feel a bit of giddiness coming on. Really, V? Perhaps I’m connecting with the fact that I need some changes in my life – philosophical switch or something. Who knows…I’ve got much to think about.

Afternoon:

  • Ben Folds, Way to Normal: While in Vermont this weekend, Beth started to play the latest Ben Folds. I, knowing nothing about it (I’d fallen under a bolder, apparently), asked about it. “Way too normal,” was the response I heard, which alarmed me until I realized that she was actually just telling me that it was called Way to Normal. Fortunately, it features Ben, quirky as ever, continuing to be sensational. I’d love to spend five minutes, Being John Malkovich-style, in this man’s head.
  • Ani DiFranco, Living In Clip: I am obviously thrilled that things seem go be going swimmingly for Ani: the baby, a happy life, everything up in Buffalo, but Clip is how I prefer my DiFranco. It’s raw, feisty, angry, sensitive and not content with the progress she’s made and the work she’s done. My single favorite collection of her work, performed the way I like it: live!And it turns out that this was the best decision I could have made today. Listening to “Joyful Girl,” Ani knocked some sense into me:
    Cuz the bathroom mirror has not budged
    And the woman who lives there can tell
    The truth from the stuff that they say
    And she looks me in the eye
    And says would you prefer the easy way?
    No, well O.K. then
    Don’t cry
  • Speechwriters LLC, The Bull Moose After Party: An album guaranteed to get a smile on my face and keep it there. Today, “Balk” is proving to be my go-to song.
