I hate finishing books on my morning commute. I get cranky when the last page arrives and briefly blame the author for not having just those couple of extra chapters that will get me through the trip back home come evening.

I could blame myself for finishing the book more quickly than I should have, but even that goes back to the author. If the book hadn’t been so interesting, I wouldn’t have made a point of reading it while on the elipitical machine at the gym. SO THERE. WAY TO GO, MARGOT LIVESEY.

Beth told me last week that The House on Fortune Street has been generating some positive word of mouth and reviews, so when I went to the Coop to pick up I’m-sick-and-Hannibal-Lecter-isn’t-a-good-idea material, I made my way over to the fiction Ls. The recommended work was there, but since it’s only in hardcover at present and Livesey was a new-to-me author, I decided to go for slightly less committment. The Missing World sounded intriguing. As it turns out, it was.

Imagine you’re the scorned half of a longtime ex-couple and the person you loves, due to an accident, forgets a huge chunk of your relationship. The bad part. Is it a chance to set things right? In this work, Jonathan thinks that it is.

This work is an example of slow, careful plot development. It’s the kind that rewards you for following lengthy description of immediate action by giving you a glimpse of the overall issues and deeper complications. You have to be patient as you read it, because Livesey knows that an authentic depiction of life isn’t going to give you all the information right away. As such, you’ve got to wait for it and keep your senses sharp.

The payoff is worth it. I’ll be picking up Fortune Street when it’s out on paperback.

