I have a couple of friends making their way to my apartment, where we will enjoy wine, Chinese, and pretty people wearing clothes that are probably super uncomfortable. As for my fashion choice this evening? I am wearing Eddie Bauer and Red Sox. Joan Rivers would have a heart attack.

My predictions for the awards that will be handed out tonight are below. Please note that these are who I think will win. I’ll try to note if I think someone else deserves it more.

Best Picture: Slumdog Millionaire

Best Actor: Mickey Rourke

Best Actress: Kate Winslet

Best Supporting Actor: Heath Ledger

Best Supporting Actress: Penelope Cruz (although I’d love to see Amy Adams win, I think it’s PC’s night)

Best Animated Feature: WALL-E

Best Art Direction: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (The Dark Knight deserves this)

Cinematography: Slumdog Millionaire

Costume Design: The Duchess

Directing: Slumdog Millionaire

Documentary: Man On Wire

Film Editing: Slumdog Millionaire

Makeup: …Benjamin Button

Music (Score): Slumdog Millionaire

Music (Song): Jai Ho, Slumdog Millionaire

Sound Editing: The Dark Knight (I would love to see Iron Man get some love here, but I’m happy if TDK wins)

Sound Mixing: Slumdog Millionaire

Visual Effects: …Benjamin Button (TDK deserves it)

Adapted Screenplay: Slumdog Millionaire

Original Screenplay: Milk

