I’ve been listening to “Grain of Sand” a lot these days. “You can help me decide what to keep and what to leave behind.”

Fitting. With the start of a new chapter comes an inventory check. It’s harder, in many respects, to sort the physical items (as illustrated by the boxes I will be tackling this weekend) than the emotional. The latter tends to be a bit of a no-brainer when you realize how much changes after a simple four-hour drive across state lines.

What I keep is the love and support of the people who have supported me before the move and are keeping it up now. Those who’ve called or written to see how I’m doing, the ones who say “Tell me everything.” The random little thinking-of-yous, the invitations, even the “We should totally start bowling”-natured ideas. – 4.27.07

Two years ago today, the Boston Red Sox surprised everyone – including themselves – when they hit back-to-back-to-back-to-back home runs at Fenway Park. Against the Yankees, no less.

I had a dopey grin on my face as I watched the record-tying display unfold. In fact, I would be so bold as to say that my grin was wider than most. When my phone rang, I laughingly took the call and heard my brother laughing on the other end.

“Welcome to Massachusetts, Vic.”

It was my first day here.

Happy anniversary, Massachusetts. Let’s celebrate. In fact, I know the perfect way to do so: Bruce Springsteen at the Garden. I kind of can’t wait.

