Victoria: You can always tell when a show has gone from a big deal event to an epic RAWK event.
Tom: How’s that?
V: You will see two dudes high-five each other at some point during the middle of a song. Not because that song they wanted to hear is starting. Not because the song ending was great. In the middle, celebrating their epic dude rawk awesomeness.
T: YEAH!
V: UH! We procured the tickets to this event!
T: EPIC!
V: RAWK! I think it should be one of those “Real Men of Genius” commercials. “We salute you, Rawk Event Ticket Procurement Guy.”
T: [singing] “You coughed up the $20 service feeeeeees.”

Tom and I are both passionate about music, but our tastes…well, they differ. Greatly. I’m a little bit indie singer-songwriter, T’s a little bit vegan straightedge crusty punk. The Venn diagram of our musical favorites would feature widely disparate circles that touch just enough to come up with the following mutually appreciated artists:

  • Ani Difranco
  • Tori Amos
  • Cyndi Lauper
  • Morrissey
  • Rancid and select other nostalgia-prompting pop/punkish/ska bands
  • Bruce Springsteen

In most of these cases, it’s not even that we’re both particularly diehard fans of the artist, but we share an appreciation. This is big. We celebrate actually being able to talk about the same person or band.

As such, while I’m not a rabid Springsteen fan (I appreciate, but I don’t obsess), I was giddy to attend last night’s Garden show with my younger sibling, who is a rabid Springsteen fan. It was my first show, his birthday gift and the night that the Bruins had a chance to complete a sweep of the Canadiens up in Montreal.

Hello, awesome. Once the lights dimmed, the band prepared to take the stage and Tom and I stopped listening to the radio broadcast of the game, things were set to be epic and rawky.

Badlands
Candy’s Room
Outlaw Pete
She’s the One
Working on a Dream
Seeds
Johnny 99
Youngstown
Raise Your Hand
I Wanna Be Sedated
Spirit in the Night
For You
Waitin’ on a Sunny Day
The Promised Land
Jungleland (Tom: “I never ever thought I’d hear this live.”)
Kingdom of Days
Radio Nowhere (w/ Jay Weinberg)
Lonesome Day (w/ Jay Weinberg)
The Rising (w/ Jay Weinberg)
Born to Run (w/ Jay Weinberg)
* * *
Hard Times
Thunder Road
Land of Hope and Dreams
So Young and in Love (w/ Dropkick Murphys’ Tim Brennan)
American Land (w/ Dropkick Murphys, Jay Weinberg)
Glory Days (w/ Dropkick Murphys, Jay Weinberg)
Seven Nights to Rock

It was big, funny and over the top. Bruce was all about the posing and the grandeur, and the audience was determined to give the epic treatment right back to him. The band was tight, the songs were sharp and the singalongs were glorious. The music kept coming for three solid hours and an unexpected seventh encore song showed that the band was having as much fun as we were.

As I discovered that the sleeve of my jacket had been soaked in someone’s beer, felt the ringing in my ears and decided that both were more than acceptable evils given the fun of the night, I turned to see Tom with a grin on his face.

“Best birthday present EVER.”

Rawk. High-five.

