I’m starting to believe that Robert Pattinson movies and I are not meant to be. Which, depending on your perspective, could be a logical enough conclusion even without any further context, I suppose.

(Don’t judge.)

Regardless, the fact remains that in the two times I have endeavored to see films in which this fellow stars, my cinematic experience has been threatened by Boston’s public transportation system. At the same subway station, no less.

I was matter-of-factly making my way to the Coolidge Corner Theatre last night, where I would attend the special sold-out screening of How to Be with my friend Meg. I was looking forward to it primarily because I’d had a lovely chat last week with Oliver Irving and Joe Hastings, How to Be‘s writer/director and composer, respectively, for a Bostonist preview that ran on Tuesday and I really wanted to see what those fellows had been talking about.

When I got to Park Street, I discovered that a disabled train at Hynes was going to leave us all standing around for a bit. How long? According to the guy speaking over the intercom on our train, “We have no idea of how long. It’s going to be quite a while. If you can get to Kenmore, there’s outbound service running. There are…uh…buses.” No word of shuttles. Just buses.

I had an hour until movie time, no knowledge of busing schedules between Park and Kenmore and no desire to pay money for a cab. So I started walking and, at Copley, turned that into a jog. I made it to Kenmore before Meg and her boyfriend picked me up and we made our way off to the movie.

Now this could be a one-off thing, EXCEPT for the fact that I got stuck on a train – AT HYNES – back when I was heading out to meet up with Meg for our Twilight viewing.

I’m starting to wonder.

Anyway, the logical question awaits: how was the movie? Quirky. Endearing. The British indie style I love so much, with absurd little moments and a pretension-free vibe. Pattinson is incredibly awkward, but in a way that actually suits his character (as opposed to the so-bad-it’s-impossible-to-resist melodramatic awkwardness that is Twilight). It really is a charming film, thankfully worth the ridiculous trip out.

But good people of the MBTA, hear me on this. I know that I deserve to be laughed at for seeing Twilight. I get that those who don’t know about How to Be could think it was just another chance to squeel over His Sparkliness.

But ruining everyone else’s experience on the T just to try to stop me? This has nothing to do with you and, quite frankly, just can’t be helped. I’m going to get there anyway. So just keep the trains moving.

