Written on Monday, May 28, 2001:

– coldplay: i had been waiting, WAITING to see coldplay forever. unfortunately, there were three factors playing against coldplay. 1) outdoor venue 2) large crowd 3) no one knew who the hell they were. i need to see coldplay at a small venue such as paradise. i walked out of their set after i heard “yellow”. i never thought that would be possible.

I was so disappointed the first time I saw Coldplay. WBCN’s RiverRave was finally going to let me see the band over which I had been obsessing. I was going to hear “Yellow” live. It was going to be great.

And then the show happened and it was dreadful. The crowd was full of people watching for the Dropkick Murphys and they were presented with a then-obscure and sensitive British outfit. It was a train wreck waiting to happen – and in that respect, it didn’t disappoint. It was an epic failure.

I kept on loving the band, although I didn’t have an opportunity to see Chris and Company live again until years later, when they were huge and epic and awesome in a live setting.

Imagine my laughter today, however, to be listening to WBCN as I’m working and to hear the DJs reminisce about the bumbling way Coldplay broke into the Boston scene…and about how Chris went off after that set, ranting and raving about how he was convinced that Boston hated and would always hate his band.

