Dear Dan Shaughnessy:

I enjoyed your column today. Prepping for the Brady/Manning showdown set for a short time from now, the column was engaging. Amusing. Fun.

I enjoyed it so much that I almost feel badly that I’m knocking down your lede.

You are a Tom Brady Guy or you are a Peyton Manning Guy. There is nothing in between.

Really, Dan? Really? Guy? Really, guy?

Whatever, it’s not that big a deal. I get that. But this whole “a woman who happens to be one of the guys when it comes to sports” thing is so tired. I  know so many women who can out-stat, out-talk and out-care the guys when it comes to sports. We’re not all one of the guys. We’re just fans.

If I may, please let me quote one of my fellow savvy blondes. In the immortal words of January Jones:

“Dear men of America, I like beer, I like football. I’m probably the most interesting girl you’ll ever meet.”

I’m neither a Brady Guy nor a Manning Guy. I am free of pink hats or articles of clothing from the Alyssa Milano Touch Collection. I am a Patriots fan. A Brady fan.

But if you’re going to be specific, Dan, I’m going call shenanigans.

In that case, I’m proud to be a Brady Lady.

Cordially,
Victoria

