I alarmed myself yesterday when I checked in with my typical social networking haunts – Twitter, Facebook, Flickr – and noticed a trend. I quickly sought out this space to confirm my suspicions and realized I had a bit of a problem.

I’ve been sounding terribly one note as of late. All sports all the time.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m proud of the fact that I know my stuff. I love talking sports, working with the camera I have (and daydreaming about the cameras I’d like) at games. I listen to sports talk radio in the morning and check in with the news unfolding each day. Sports are important to me and I love that.

But there’s more to me than that, thank you.

As such, I’m temporarily banning myself from talking about sports until Thursday.

(Why Thursday? Because I’m going to the Boston/Toronto game at the Garden and there’s no way I’m not going to wind up saying something about it.)

In lieu of that, here are a few other things to report:

  • I finally took on one of the karaoke gold medal songs at the Asgard last week. As it turns out, “Total Eclipse of the Heart” is terrifying to sing, but so much fun.
  • I make my father a calendar that chronicles my family’s hijinks over the course of each year. Sorting through the images on flickr recently, I started laughing at the caption on this one. Sure enough, it made the cut.
  • I reached my goal of 50 books in 52 weeks in 2009. I’m presently reading my 55th book – Sin in the Second City: Madams, Ministers, Playboys, and the Battle for America’s Soul. While I’ve always been a fan of biographical works or historical non-fiction, I found myself really seeking nonfiction out more than any other year before. I’m going to be in the process of putting together my list of the top 10 reads of the year within the next couple of weeks.
  • Speaking of 2009 reads, I’ve neglected to note before now that one of the books on my 2009 list is notable for two reasons. Not only was it a wonderful read, it also happens to be the single most thoughtful birthday gift I’ve ever received. Ages ago now, my brother and I were in Salem, listening to This American Life on NPR. I was raving about how great I think Sarah Vowell is. As it turns out, he remembered this fact; not only did he add to my Vowell collection, but he did so in style. I was so surprised that he went so out of his way for the perfect personalized gift that I teared up. What can I say? I’m a sap.
  • I’m coming up with ideas for this space that will likely result in some big changes. Stay tuned.
