While cheering for USA over Canada in Olympics men’s hockey on Sunday night, I had a chance to get back to my roots of supporting the underdog. I love rooting for the underdog. I miss rooting for the underdog.

Born less than a year after the Miracle on Ice, I didn’t get to experience the euphoria of watching the US stun the Soviet Union. The last US victory over Canada, however, came a good solid two decades before I even came into the picture.

As such, it was pretty incredible to sit in the Cask & Flagon on Sunday night, slapping high five with the bartender as he ran along the circular bar, listening to a chant of “USA! USA!” that I’d never really experienced in person before.

It was nice to have my moment and get a taste of what I’ve heard so much about.

(Check the flickr for some photos.)

