Woke up, realized I had overslept compared to the ridiculously early hour at which I’d intended to rise because I wanted to go to my gym, work in an early morning run, and then shower. Because I have no working shower in my apartment.

Down: One shower.

Realized that I overslept because my BlackBerry (which provides one of the three alarms I require to wake up in the morning–not a morning girl, this one here) wasn’t on. Turn on BlackBerry. See White Screen of Death that proclaims that there is a technical issue and I should return it to the point of purchase.

Down: One shower, one now-bricked BlackBerry.

Go to gym. Skip running, as there isn’t time and–oh wait–earbuds for iPod are still sitting on the table by my armchair.

Down: One shower, one now-bricked  BlackBerry, one pair of earbuds.

Realize after gym shower that the hairbrush I’d intended to pack in my gym bag is still in my bedroom.

Down: One shower, one now-bricked BlackBerry, one pair of earbuds, one hairbrush.

Arrive at T stop closest to office more than an hour earlier than usual. Trip up stairs leading to street.

Down: One shower, one now-bricked BlackBerry, one pair of earbuds, one hairbrush, the skin on one knee.

Stop by Verizon store during lunch break, drop off phone, hear that new replacement BlackBerry–because the OS upgrade I was prompted to install successfully fried my device–won’t arrive until Friday.

Down: One shower, one now-bricked BlackBerry, one pair of earbuds, one hairbrush, the skin on one knee, my patience.

Me: “OR you can overnight it so it arrives here in the store tomorrow. So I can pick it up tomorrow. Because this is a known issue and you should have replacements ready.”
Them: “Let me talk to my manager … OK, we can do that. FedEx will overnight it, which means it can arrive anytime tomorrow between morning and 7 pm …”
Me: “Oh, trust me, I know all about FedEx shipping BlackBerries.”

Down: One shower, one now-bricked BlackBerry, one pair of earbuds, one hairbrush, the skin on one knee, my patience, my mind.

Return home from most ridiculous of days (albeit one bolstered by a gorgeous run along the Harborwalk and City Hall Plaza) and discover that I won’t have a working shower until this weekend.

Down: All that other stuff, plus any lingering “aw, but isn’t this hilarious” sentiments from earlier in the day. Do not pass go, do not collect $200, go directly to ImprovBoston to be entertained by funny and talented people I know. Best decision I made all day.

UPDATE: Ah, the powers of friendship and the Internets! This was sent my way and was promptly bookmarked. And watched four times in a row. WHAT DON’T JUDGE ME. Thank you, van der Awesome.

