I’m kind of a dork. By “kind of,” I mean “very much, almost embarrassingly only not really.” On Wednesday evening, I sat in my usual spot at the Garden for the first time this hockey postseason. I was unaware of the fact that I would soon be experiencing two overtimes and one of the most thrilling (read: exciting, panic-inducing) games I’ve seen in person (second only to this one). As I watched the Bruins warming up, I snapped photos (thinking about how I need to start shopping around for a new camera), happened across this …

… and laughed to myself. Oh, look at this. My Stanley Cup Playoff experience can now Begin. GET IT? I’m hilarious.

I watched Friday night’s poor showing in Buffalo from my living room, where friends had come together for dinner, drinks, and sports. We watched the Bruins lose, then changed the channel so as to watch the Celtics win, then changed again to cheer on the Red Sox. This is one of the best times of year for a Boston fan–I have to hope that I experience it again in October. As for now, however, it’s all about gearing up for Game 6 on Monday night.

***

I spent a rare Fenway-free Saturday in Dorchester, standing on scaffolding as I helped to paint a house. As part of Rebuilding Boston Together, I had the chance to enjoy the sunshine, meet new people, and do something nice for someone else. I didn’t realize that I’d wind up reaching a whole new level of existence as a Bostonian. As I adjusted my hat, put on my protective eyeglasses, and worked with my paint roller, the DJ in the back yard cued up “I’m Shipping Up to Boston.” Painting a house in Dot to the Dropkick Murphys? Holy Boston, Batman.

***

Victoria: I’ve decided. I’m jumping out of a plane.
Meg: Oh no. What’s going on today? Vent. I’m here.
V: No, I mean for fun. I’m jumping out of a plane. Skydiving.
M: OH! OMG. I thought you were saying you were having a rough day!

Thanks to Groupon, I bought a package that will enable me to finally cross skydiving off my to do list. Jumping out of a plane at 10,500 feet? To say that I’m excited is an understatement.

