The Run to Home Base 9K is less than a month away, and I’m excited to set out on a run that will take me from Boston to Cambridge and back again, ending at Fenway Park’s home plate. But in order to get there on May 23, I need some help.

Earlier this year, I had the opportunity to meet some of the veterans involved with the Red Sox Foundation and Massachusetts General Hospital Home Base Program, and I have to say that doing so has been one of my personal Fenway highlights. I’m running the 9K in honor of those veterans, as well as in honor of family and friends who have served so bravely over the years.

I tell you this to ask for your support. I have pledged to raise $1000 for the Home Base Program and I want to not only meet that goal, but exceed it. I would greatly appreciate any help you can give to help me do so. As a thank you for your support, I will be raffling off a pair of tickets to a Red Sox game at Fenway Park this year. For every $20 donation to my run, you will earn an entry into the raffle. Every additional $20 will get you an additional entry! By supporting such a good cause, you’ll have a chance to cheer on the Sox at Fenway this summer!

Please visit my fundraising page at http://www.runtohomebase.org/runtohomebase/VictoriaWelch and spread the word. Know someone who would like to help the cause – or someone who’d like a chance to win the tickets? Please let them know about my efforts!

Every little bit helps and I appreciate anything you can do to help my efforts. Here’s to a great cause and what’s going to be a great day at Fenway on May 23.

